Skip to content

I am….

April 11, 2010

“I am a father for you, and a brother, a bridegroom, and a home, a nurse and a dress, a root and a cornerstone. Whatever you want I am for you. I don’t want you to be in any need. I will serve you, because I came not to be served but to serve. I am a friend, and a member, and a head, and a brother and a sister, and a mother. I am everything for you. Only be in contact with me. I have been poor for you and a wanderer for you, I have been on the cross and in the tomb for you. High above with the Father I mediate for you. Down here I arrived as an ambassador sent by the Father to you. You are everything to me, a brother and a co-heir, a friend, and a member of my body. What more do you desire?”

Saint John Chrysostom, Homilies on the Gospel of Matthew, Homily 76 (Migne, P. G. 58:700)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 12:38 pm

    So beautiful. Thank you for sharing. St John, pray for us!

  2. April 12, 2010 3:45 am

    I NEVER tire of reading this beautiful quote by St John … never, thank you Marinaki and Christos Anesti! Indeed, HE IS.

Leave a Reply

